Show Your Work! By Austin Kleon

10 Ways to Share Your Creativity and Get Discovered

Chris Hughes
4 min readApr 30, 2021

So far, my reading goal is off to a resounding success as I have quickly finished my first book of the year, Show Your Work! 10 ways to share your creativity and get discovered by Austin Kleon.

You’ll probably here me say this a lot but no matter who you are or what you do, I think you should read this book!

This book helped me recognize that one of the unique things about being human is that we are born to create. Whether you are a coder or legislative assistant or part-time bartender, you were meant to create something wonderful and beautiful, something only you can create. We all become better humans when we are creating, putting things out into the universe and trying to help each other get through life.

The stupidest possible creative act is still a creative act. — Clay Shirky

Since he already shares all his main ideas on the back cover, I’ll go ahead and share it here, so…spoiler alert…you’re already going to know most of what the book has to say here:

  1. You Don’t Have to Be a Genius
  2. Think Process, Not Product.
  3. Share Something Small Every Day.
  4. Open Up Your Cabinet of Curiosities.
  5. Tell Good Stories.
  6. Teach What You Know.
  7. Don’t Turn Into Human Spam.
  8. Learn to Take a Punch.
  9. Sell Out.
  10. Stick Around.

None of it is radically new information. But it’s incredibly helpful to hear from someone else, especially someone who is a creative and has made his own way as a working artist/writer. Throughout the book, I didn’t feel so much like I was getting new ideas but rather, like I was having a conversation with an encouraging creative coach, spurring me on and inspiring me to get out there and make something happen.

The premise of the book is right there in the title: Show. Your. Work. And this doesn’t just mean the finished product. According to Kleon, showing what you’re up to, the things that you’re trying, reading, thinking about, and how you do things behind-the-scenes are just as interesting, if not more so, than your finished product.

Hearing about this book was actually part of the inspiration for starting this blog. For years, I kept another blog but I kept getting bogged down 1.) because I was overwhelmed by imposter syndrome and struggling for things to say and 2.) because I was too focused on ensuring I had well thought out essays. In this new space, I just want to write, even if it’s not completely thought out. I want to show what I’m working on and what I’m reading and listening to. I want to show my work…as it’s happening.

Show Your Work reminds us that part of the creativity journey is surrounding ourselves with a creative community, with co-conspirators who inspire and challenge us, who together, feed each other creative energy. It teaches us the power of being an amateur, of being unafraid to suck at something. Experts already have their own assumptions about what works and what doesn’t. But for amateurs, every single possibility is open to them.

Great ideas are often birthed by a group of creative individuals…who make up an ecology of talent. — Austin Kleon

Ultimately, Kleon encourages us to get our work out there. Because what we put out in the world comes back to us. So if you want to be more creative and want to find yourself in a creative community of encouragers, clients, co-workers, and friends, start by showing your work. When you create, you attract others who want to create along with you.

Make stuff you love and talk about stuff you love and you’ll attract people who love that kind of stuff. It’s that simple. — Austin Kleon

Like I said, I think everyone would benefit from reading this book, even if you just want to be an amateur water color painter. But I think it’s especially helpful if, like me, you suffer from overwhelming imposter syndrome, if you’re stuck in a rut, or you just simply need a good kick to get started on your creative journey.

Oh and the bonus is this book is incredibly easy to read, as there are wonderful word/art images on just about every other page!

You can check out what the Austin Kleon is up to here.

--

--

Chris Hughes

Chris Hughes is a youth pastor, writer and aspiring amateur BBQ pitmaster. He writes in this space about spirituality, justice-making, wellness and creativity.